RESPONSE TO WOMEN WRITERS

@WomenWriters, a very informative resource, posted this question today on Twitter:What’s the worst writing tip you’ve ever had?

It is a thought provoking but subjective question.I don’t think I have ever had a bad writing tip.If I do find some fault; it is with too technical, formulaic advice.

Give the words a voice..

To me, as an aspiring thriller writer, the best individual thriller of the last forty years is The Day Of The Jackal by Frederick Forsyth.

He combined his journalism training with acute observations he made while working in France.

The rest is popular fiction history.

Although I have read parts of the book over forty times, I don’t use it to plot formulae. I rather admire the way he has given himself the brilliant freedom to express himself through fiction.

Now I would like to mention the BEST writing advice I have ever seen:

1) Care of David Morrell and Stephen King:If you write popular fiction, take it seriously.

2) In her online article The Tyranny of the First Draft, Karen Miller addresses the pitfalls many people encounter while trying to write a first draft.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

